Local News

The Love Languages (1) – Words of Affirmation

For the next weeks, we’d be discussing the love languages and according to Gary Chapman, a well-known author, speaker and counsellor, they are Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. So today, we’d start by discussing Words of Affirmation.

It is said that actions speak louder than words, unless your partner’s love language is words of affirmation. In this case, words are everything. You just have to speak it out. Whether they are written or spoken, a person whose love language is words of affirmation will place a lot of importance on what you have to say to them.

Understanding that the word is an egg will help you in expressing those words to your partner. Words of affirmation are any spoken or written words that support and uplift a person positively. It’s a way of receiving and giving love in a relationship.

Partners whose primary love language is based on this will appreciate compliments, heartfelt thank you’s, hand written notes and hearing what they mean to you. The goal of this particular love language is to let your partner know how much they mean to you.

Read Also: How to Create More Harmony in Your Relationship

When explaining words of affirmation according to Gary Chapman, it is the most common love language that revolve around verbal expression. Partners with this language feel fulfilled when expressed as a show of appreciation.

Tips on How to Speak the Love Language
  • You need to express them often. Take the time to be verbose without saying things for the sake of saying them.
  • If saying them out loud is hard, write them out. You can always use the written words or texts or complimentary cards.
  • Words are everything (both good and bad). According to DeMarco, “words matter; that means the good ones, as well as the hurtful ones.” So, choose your words carefully.
  • Know the words your partner likes the most. You need to know the kind of positive phrases that speak directly to your partner.
  • Don’t assume there is a particular quote you must say.

Finally, if your primary love language is words of affirmation, it does not mean you are possessive. It’s just a way you feel loved and appreciated. Next week, we’d be explicating “Acts of Service” as one of the five love languages.

Fun Fact

Partners with words of affirmation as their primary love language tend to be very inquisitive and sensitive. They notice every slight changes either in their partner or surroundings.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.

More in:Local News